Small Business Awards

Small Business Awards
Posted on 07/03/2017

Want to recognize a small business in our region?  Small businesses that operate in the Grande Prairie/Peace Region can be nominated. 

Here are the general eligibility requirements.

General Eligibility Requirements

To be a valid entry in the Grande Prairie Chamber Awards of Distinction, your business must:

•  Have 100 or less full-time equivalent employees (three part-time equal one full-time)

•  Have operated in the Grande Prairie area/Peace Region for a minimum of three years *;

•  Be operating in the Grande Prairie area/Peace Region and continuing to do so at the time of the awards presentation;

•  Not have won in the same category in the past three years *;

•  Not have anyone in your management, on your board, or in your employ serving on the Grande Prairie Chamber Awards of Distinction selection committee for the category for which you’ve been nominated.

* With the exception of the Best New Business category which is for companies established within the past two years.


Entry Deadline

In order to be eligible, your submission must be delivered to the Grande Prairie & District Chamber of Commerce office no later than 4:30pm, September 1, 2017. Due to the number of entries received, entry packages cannot be returned.

These annual awards are open to the entire business community for Chamber Members and prospective members alike. The awards include a wide range of categories including: 

- Small Business of the Year - Under Ten Employees 

- Small Business of the Year - Ten or More Employees
- Community Spirit
- Young Entrepreneur
- Best New Business
- Employer of Choice
- Arts and Culture
- Eagle Feather
- Employer of Persons with Challenges
- Marketing
- Service Superstar
- The Innovator   


The complete awards criteria is available by clicking here, and a nomination form is available by  clicking here. Nominations can be submitted by email, mail, or dropped off at the Chamber of Commerce by Friday, September 1, 2017.

If unable to submit your application electronically, please submit a printed copy of this form and all other documents to the following:

Ula Knelson
Community Dev. Coordinator
FCSS Coordinator

Saddle Hills County
Junction of Hwy 49 & Hwy 725
79177 Rge Rd 84
RR 1,  Spirit River, AB  T0H 3G0
Ph: (780) 864-3760 Extension 206